Advisory Board

CSRD Advisory Board

The CSRD Advisory Board, is comprised of accomplished, respected and visionary leaders.  Chaired by Carole Coles-Henry, the board includes ASU faculty, alumni, professionals and leaders from Arizona cities and communities. Their commitment of time, resources and ideas informs the progress and success of the ASU Center for the Study of Race and Democracy.

Our CSRD Advisory Board  

  • champions the Center's efforts to model purposeful and intentional inclusion
  • advances the Center's capacity to be a local, state, national and global convener, leader and resource on issues of race and democracy 
  • strengthens community engagement and partnerships with the Center 

Our CSRD Advisory Board is committed to the following:  

  • working collaboratively within each board member's respective networks to bring awareness to the achievements, impact aspirations and goals of the ASU Center for the Study of Race and Democracy
  • supporting the center as it becomes a leading center of academic study of race and democracy in America and a profound resource focusing on Arizona, in Sonora and on the border, supporting the enfranchised and the disenfranchised
  • creating legacies of engagement that will enable sustained philanthropic giving to the Center and sponsorships of its core initiatives and signature programs
  • facilitating pathways between communities that will enable reflection, introspection
    and information sharing 
  • advancing the Center as a bridge between rural and urban communities and to provide opportunities for partnership, reflection and information sharing

CSRD Advisory Board Members

Carole Coles Henry imageCarole Coles Henry

Chair, CSRD Advisory Board 

Director, City of Phoenix Equal Opportunity Department (Retired)
Carol Berry imageCarol BerryJudge, Phoenix Municipal Court (Retired)
Rufus Glasper imageRufus Glasper, PhDPresident and CEO
League for Innovation in the Community College
Roy Janisch imageRoy Janisch, JD, PhD
Independent Scholar
Vada Manager imageVada O. ManagerPresident and CEO
Manager Global Consulting Group
Paul Mittman

Dr. Paul Mittman

President and CEO
Sonoran University of Health Sciences

Roxanne Song Ong imageRoxanne Song OngChief Presiding Judge, Phoenix Municipal Court (Retired)
Julia C. Patrick imageJulia C. PatrickFounder and CEO
Patrick Media Group
Alberto Ríos imageAlberto RíosArizona Poet Laureate
Director, ASU Virginia G. Piper Chair in Creative Writing

Connie Robinson imageConnie RobinsonVice President
The Gideon Group
Dr. Aneesah Nadir

Dr. Aneesah Nadir

Dr. Aneesah Nadir & Associates
Diversity Training, Family Life Education

Mary Rose Garrido Wilcox image

Mary Rose Garrido Wilcox

 City of Phoenix Councilwoman (ret.)

CSRD Advisory Board Member Emeritus

Grady Gammage Jr. imageGrady Gammage Jr., JD

Senior Research Fellow, Morrison Institute for Public Policy
Faculty Associate, Sandra Day O’Connor School of Law
Senior Global Futures Scholar, Global Futures Scientists and Scholars
Faculty Associate, W.P. Carey Master of Real Estate Development
Co-Founder, Gammage and Burnham, Attorneys At Law